Twizy Safety

(system) #1

Hello Twizy Owners out there,

I’m a newbie member, not currently a Twizy owner, but have been following the site for a few months now. I’d really like to be a Twizy owner too as soon as I’ve sold my current car. However their seem to be quite a few sceptics out there about the design.

I’ve riden motorbikes in the past and personally wouldn’t ride a motorbike with a child on the back, but was quite happy to buy a Twizy until the thought of being hit by a vehicle from the rear whilst carrying a passenger. I’ve only seen head on crash tests on Youtube, and their doesn’t seem to be any rear protection at all to the Twizy.

So, I’d like to hear how other owners feel about the safety of travelling with a child in the back?

(ItMayJustWork) #2

I think whoever is in the back is at risk. Significant impact could result in serious crush injuries as the passenger is crushed against the back of the drivers seat. I think it might be marginally safer than getting hit up the back on a scooter. On a scooter however you would be thrown off the vehicle and potentially into the wheels of other traffic whereas in a Twizy you would be crushed. Neither particularly pleasant and best avoided. I do think however, it is safer than riding a bicycle.

(mender) #3

My Twizy was bought partly to cover the school run-a 4 mile round trip down muddy rural lanes which are narrow and lethally slippery. We take a 4 year old to school and a 2 year old to nursery the opposite direction on town roads. We use a Graco Junior Maxi seat and the Twizy’s rear belt.
We almost bought a Winther Kangaroo or Bakfiets Cargo and the Twizy is a much better solution, see:
http://www.twizyowners.com/showthread.php/203-If-not-a-Twizy-what-would-you-have-bought-What-was-the-trade-in

My view is that it is certainly not a safe as a car, and the following should be considered: